

Department of Chemistry Presidency University, Kolkata



Presents

Two Day Symposium – Seminars & Academic Outreach Programme

Poster Presentation and 22nd National Chemiquiz

On January 4-5,2018

Venue: Derozio Hall, Presidency University

:Programme Schedule:

Day 1: January 04, 2018

10:30 AM - 11:15 AM	Inaugural Session
	Inaugural Address by Professor Anuradha Lohia , Honorable Vice-Chancellor of Presidency University
	Welcome Address by Professor Bijan Das , H.O.D, Chemistry, Presidency University
11:15 AM – 11:30 AM	Tea Break
11:30 AM - 02:00 PM	Lectures on "Chemistry at the interface of Biology & Material Science"
	Chair - Professor Bijan Das, H.O.D, Chemistry, Presidency University SPEAKERS:
	Professor Sabyasachi Sarkar, IIEST, Shibpur (Topic: Jurassic Park to Dengue: Low Cost Nano Carbon Choke Breathing of Mosquito Larvae) Professor Amit Basak, IIT Kharagpur
02:00 PM – 02:45 PM	Lunch Break
02:45 PM – 06:00 PM	Lectures on Popular Science
	Chair – Professor G. K. Kar, Department of Chemistry, Presidency University SPEAKERS:
	Sri Pathik Guha, Journalist and Writer of Popular Science (Topic: Why Science?)
	Dr. Sankar Nath, Oncologist (<i>Topic:</i> History of Medical Education in Bengal)

Day 2: January 05, 2018:

10:30 AM – 12:00 PM	Lecture by Dr. Debiprasad Duari, Director, Birla Planetarium, Kolkata
12:00 PM – 12:15 PM	Tea Break
12:15 PM onwards	Departmental Outreach Academic activity Poster session for the research scholars of various universities 22nd National Chemiquiz organized by students of the Department and Prize distribution

Organizing committee

Chief Patron: *Professor Anuradha Lohia*, Honorable Vice-Chancellor of Presidency University

Advisory Committee:

- (i) Dr. Debajyoti Konar, Registrar, Presidency University
- (ii) *Professor Arabinda Nayak*, Dean of Faculty of Natural and Mathematical Sciences, Presidency University
- (iii) Professor Gandhi Kumar Kar, Department of Chemistry, Presidency University
- (iv) Dr. Prithul Chakraborty, Finance Officer, Presidency University

Chairperson: *Professor Bijan Das*, Head, Department of Chemistry, Presidency University Joint Co-ordinators:

Dr. Arnab Halder, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Presidency University

Dr. Koena Ghosh, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Presidency University

Treasurer: Dr. Adity Bose, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Presidency University

Convener: *Dr. Dhrubaprasad Chatterjee*, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Presidency University

Members:

Dr. Anjoy Majhi, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Presidency University

Dr. Biplab Biswas, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Presidency University

Dr. Sasikumar Palani, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Presidency University

Dr. Pulak Kumar Ghosh, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Presidency University

All non-teaching staff, UG & PG students and research scholars